Home > Americas, English, Society & Culture > Call me ‘Saint’! Louisiana, I love y’all…

Call me ‘Saint’! Louisiana, I love y’all…

I know I wasn’t the only football fan watching yesterday the Super Bowl XLIV in Sun Life Stadium. The whole beauty of the game, the ineffable excitement and the wonderful feeling that I can ignore for a moment the current economic malaise all made me feel great.

And now to the game! I know I, and everyone else or most people watching their plasmas – even President Obama – felt that for once in their careers these wonderful players from New Orleans deserved a break…. And a win!

With all the sadness that tormented Ray Nagin’s city since Katrina’s devastation in September 2005, I felt they sure needed a ray of hope to get going…

And they finally got it!

They got it with ‘panache’, a wonderful and arduous win over one of the best teams in the world of American football.

So the New Orleans Saints are now World Champions!

Kudos to the kids!

What would owner Tom Benson say today, he who wanted to move the franchise away to San Antonio? Would the kids have won if then-NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue didn’t rebuff him?

Because I love competitive sports, I always admire teams that win with all the odds against them… I can think of a few folks who’ve lost $$$ betting in disfavor of the Saints!

I can recall having conversations about team prospects in this year’s league with some pretty good ‘football connoisseurs’ and none gave a bit of ‘hope’ about this team.

It’s true that no one saw them coming. 21 seasons before reaching the playoffs, 34 seasons before winning a postseason game.

Peyton Manning, you’re a great player. But today was Tracy Porter’s turn to shine!

So was the entire Saints’ turn to shine! Congrats boys…

  1. brrnag
    February 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    How much would a football signed by every new orleans saint sell for?
    The football is signed by every player. I’m just curious how much its worth

  2. nlfcrzy
    February 14, 2010 at 10:11 am

    go saints

  3. nlfcrzy
    February 14, 2010 at 10:14 am

    gr8 team, good football!

  4. arnarbarl
    February 14, 2010 at 10:22 am

    good team, great players

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

